Successful, fresh, thrilling!

“The Linos Ensemble is constantly accorded such attributes, and this is not just the result of intensive and enthusiastic rehearsals, but has other reasons as well. They include the experience of joint work on interpretation, which is always pions in music. The Neueste Nachrichten in Dresden wrote: ‘It was an exquisite concert the Linos Ensemble gave us. Its name, which derives from Greek mythology, is explained by the title: Linos, the god of rhythm and melody. After what we have heard, we can add: also the god of immense creative power and differentiation of colour’.

The Linos Ensemble was founded by the oboist Klaus Becker in 1977. In its core team of five wind instruments, five strings and piano, it successfully devoted itself to the traditional repertoire of mixed chamber music, before conquering new frontiers: premieres of contemporary compositions, its own concert series in Cologne, journeys of discovery between chamber music and symphony music, special projects on music and language, harmony music to Schubert’s opera Alfonso and Estrella with Hanns Dieter Hüsch or Schoenberg’s Pierrot Lunaire with Salome Kammer.

In the meantime, the ensemble’s repertoire comprises more than 130 works, from Bach to Stockhausen and from the trio to the chamber symphony. The musicians have conquered the CD market with more than 20 excellently reviewed productions, some of which have been awarded prizes such as the recording Louise Farrenc Piano Quintets Nos. 1 and 2, which won the ‘Prize of German Record Criticism’ 3/94 or the Quintet for Piano left-hand of Franz Schmidt, for which the ensemble received the ECHO Klassik 2017. ARD and ZDF have broadcastportrait programmes of the musicians.

Konstanze Eickhorst
Konstanze Eickhorstpiano
Winfried Rademacher
Winfried Rademacherviolin
Sidsel Garm Nielsen
Sidsel Garm Nielsenviolin
Matthias Buchholz
Matthias Buchholzviola
Mario Blaumer
Mario Blaumercello
Jörg Linowitzki
Jörg Linowitzkidouble-bass
Kersten McCall
Kersten McCallflute
Kai Frömbgen
Kai Frömbgenoboe
Rainer Müller-van Recum
Rainer Müller-van Recumclarinet
Paul van Zelm
Paul van Zelmhorn
Frank Forst
Frank Forstbassoon

our guests

Marion Eckstein
Marion Ecksteinmezzo-soprano
Ryoko Morooka
Ryoko Morookaharmonium
Andreas Böttger
Andreas Böttgerpercussion